Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
university of tulsa logo

Distinguished Lecture Series

Buck Colbert Franklin Memorial Civil Rights Lecture

The Buck Colbert Franklin Memorial Civil Rights Lecture honors one of the first black attorneys in Tulsa and Oklahoma. In the aftermath of the 1921 Tulsa Race Riot, Franklin served his community and his profession by assisting victims of the riot. Working from a tent because his office and home were destroyed during the riot, he represented clients, filed briefs and fought back against the injustice of the riot and the city’s assault on the Tulsa black community. The lecture also honors the legacy of his son, the distinguished historian John Hope Franklin, who delivered the first lecture in the series.

See lecture archive

The Stephanie K. Seymour Distinguished Lecture in Law

The Stephanie K. Seymour Distinguished Lecture in Law is the only lecture series in the country established by former clerks to honor the judge for whom they served. Janet K. Levit, Dean and Dean John Rogers Endowed Chair, served as a clerk for Seymour, a Senior Judge on the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals. The lecture highlights the scholarship of an untenured law professor whose dedication and passion mirror that of Judge Seymour.

See lecture archive

The John W. Hager Distinguished Lecture in Law

The John W. Hager Lecture in Law is an annual event held in memory of former TU Law professor John W. Hager to bring eminent professionals to the Tulsa legal community to share their ideas on law and justice. Hager served on the TU Law faculty for more than 40 years and is still remembered at the College of Law as the “King of Torts.”

See lecture archive